Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

FCPS Music Educators Dominate District 7 Awards

FCPS Music Educators Dominate District 7 Awards

Fayette County Public Schools swept the main awards at this fall’s District 7 gathering of the Kentucky Music Educators Association (KMEA).

  • Elementary Teacher of the Year: Sabrina Bowmer of Cassidy
  • Middle School Teacher of the Year: April Kite of Edythe J. Hayes
  • High School Teacher of the Year: Ryan Marsh of Lafayette
  • Administrator of the Year: Lester Diaz, principal of Frederick Douglass High School
  • Friend of Music: Fayette County Board of Education

In addition, KMEA has invited five of our ensembles to perform in February at its statewide professional learning conference in Louisville:

  • Beaumont Middle School’s Symphonic Band, under the direction of Amanda Herceg and Willow Cooper
  • Douglass’ Chamber Orchestra, directed by Sarah Milazzo-Payne
  • Lafayette’s Chamber Orchestra, under Phil Kent and Aaron Breeck
  • Lafayette’s Madrigal Singers, led by Ryan Marsh, and
  • Lafayette’s Wind Symphony, directed by Dee Bishop and Chris Strange

KMEA's District 7 covers schools in Bourbon, Clark, Fayette, Franklin, Jessamine, Harrison, Scott, and Woodford counties. For more information, email Aaron Cunningham of Tates Creek High School, the District 7 president for 2023-24.

There are no resources or collections to display
headshot of Sabrina Bowmer
headshot of April Kite
headshot of Lafayette teacher Ryan Marsh
headshot of Lester Diaz
Fayette County Board of Education Building